Aparecido wins Round 2 of Ty Murray Invitational

Eduardo Aparecido's round win on Saturday is his fifth so far this season. Photo: Andy Watson / BullStockMedia.com


  • Eduardo Aparecido won Round 2 of the Ty Murray Invitational and extended his lead in the world standings.
  • Cooper Davis finished in second place Saturday night.
  • Shane Proctor, Dakota Buttar and Dener Barbosa all tied for third place.

In This Article

ALBUQUERQUE, N.M. – The second night of the PBR’s (Professional Bull Riders) Ty Murray Invitational, presented by Isleta Resort and Casino, belonged to the No. 1 bull rider in the world as Eduardo Aparecido (Gouvelandia, Brazil) rode his way to the win in Round 2 Saturday night at WisePies Arena, aka The Pit.

Aparecido turned in an 88.75-point trip aboard Mudshark (D&H Cattle Company) to win his fifth Built Ford Tough Series Round of the season. For his efforts, Aparecido netted 100 points toward the world standings and $3,580.

The Brazilian now leads No. 2 Jess Lockwood (Volborg, Montana), who is currently sidelined with an injury, by 987.5 points.

2016 PBR World Champion Cooper Davis (Jasper, Texas) finished in second place in Round 2 after he threw down an 88.5-point ride on Udder Lover (D&H Cattle Co/Jeri Adams). The ride was Davis’ first since Round 1 in Little Rock, Arkansas, and it netted him 60 points toward the world standings and $2,750.

Three riders turned in matching 88.25-point scores to tie for third place in the round.

Shane Proctor (Grand Coulee, Washington), Dakota Buttar (Kindersley, Canada) and Dener Barbosa (Paulo De Faria, Brazil) each reached the 8-second buzzer, with Proctor and Buttar doing it on a pair of bulls that had bucked them off before.

Proctor rode Cooper’s Comet (J.A.R.S Bucking Bulls), who disposed of him earlier this season in Kansas City, while Buttar conquered VJV Nailed (J.A.R.S Bucking Bulls), a bull he faced last year in the PBR Canada Monster Energy Tour in Saskatoon, Saskatchewan.

Barbosa, the 2016 PBR Brazil Champion, covered Biker Bob (Dakota Rodeo/ Chad Berger/ Clay Struve/ H&C Bucking Bulls) to earn his share of third place.

All three riders took home 40 world points along with $1,383 for their efforts.

A night after winning Friday’s Round 1, Stormy Wing (Dalhart, Texas) rode Cracker Breaker (D&H Cattle Co./ Buck Battle Co.) for 88 points to finish sixth in Round 2 and take the lead in the event average heading into Championship Sunday. Wing also pocketed 15 world points and $600 for the finish.

Fresh off gracing the cover of the latest issue of Men’s Fitness Magazine, Guilherme Marchi (Itupeva, Brazil) took another step toward history when he rode Bar Down (Gene Owen Bucking Bulls) for 82.75 points and his 595th ride. Marchi, the PBR’s all-time leader in qualified rides, is now five away from becoming the first ever to record 600 rides on the PBR’s top-flight tour.

The PBR’s best will return to WisePies Arena, aka The Pit, Sunday afternoon for the conclusion of the Ty Murray Invitational, presented by Isleta Resort and Casino. Each rider will face one more bull in Round 3 before the Top 15 riders move on to the Built Ford Tough Championship Round where the winner will be crowned.

The Championship Sunday action begins at 3:30 p.m. ET on PBR LIVE and the PBR LIVE app. CBS Sports Network will also broadcast Championship Sunday at 4 p.m. ET.  

PBR Digital Editor Kristian Limas contributed to this report. 

Professional Bull Riders Built Ford Tough Series
Ty Murray Invitational, presented by Isleta Resort and Casino
WisePies Arena, aka The Pit Albuquerque, New Mexico
Event Leaders (Round 1-Round 2-Round 3-Round 4-Event Aggregate-Event Points)

1. Stormy Wing, 88.5-88-0-0-176.50-115 Points.
2. Eduardo Aparecido, 0-88.75-0-0-88.75-100 Points.
3. Cooper Davis, 0-88.5-0-0-88.50-60 Points.
(tie). Claudio Montanha Jr., 87.75-0-0-0-87.75-60 Points.
5. Stetson Lawrence, 86.5-0-0-0-86.50-45 Points.
(tie). Troy Wilkinson, 86.5-0-0-0-86.50-45 Points.
7. Shane Proctor, 0-88.25-0-0-88.25-40 Points.
(tie). Dener Barbosa, 0-88.25-0-0-88.25-40 Points.
(tie). Dakota Buttar, 0-88.25-0-0-88.25-40 Points.
10. Guilherme Marchi, 86.25-82.75-0-0-169.00-16.66 Points.
(tie). Cody Rodeo Tyler, 86.25-0-0-0-86.25-16.66 Points.
(tie). J.W. Harris, 86.25-0-0-0-86.25-16.66 Points.
13. Matt Triplett, 0-87.25-0-0-87.25-2.5 Points.
(tie). Cody Nance, 85.75-87.25-0-0-173.00-2.5 Points.
15. Chase Outlaw, 83.5-86.75-0-0-170.25
16. J.B. Mauney, 0-86.25-0-0-86.25
17. Emilio Resende, 86-0-0-0-86.00
18. Gage Gay, 85.75-0-0-0-85.75
19. Mike Lee, 82.25-0-0-0-82.25
20. Robson Aragao, 81-0-0-0-81.00
21. Paulo Ferreira Lima, 79.25-0-0-0-79.25
22. Marco Antonio Eguchi, 74.5-0-0-0-74.50
Kaique Pacheco, 0-0-0-0-0.00
Rubens Barbosa, 0-0-0-0-0.00
Derek Kolbaba, 0-0-0-0-0.00
Silvano Alves, 0-0-0-0-0.00
Joao Ricardo Vieira, 0-0-0-0-0.00
Ryan Dirteater, 0-0-0-0-0.00
Fabiano Vieira, 0-0-0-0-0.00
Luciano De Castro, 0-0-0-0-0.00
Koal Livingston, 0-0-0-0-0.00
Brady Sims, 0-0-0-0-0.00
Luis Blanco, 0-0-0-0-0.00
Jake Gowdy, 0-0-0-0-0.00
Cody Teel, 0-0-0-0-0.00
Tanner Byrne, 0-0-0-0-0.00
Cody Jesus, 0-0-0-0-0.00

© 2018 PBR Inc. All rights reserved.