Game notes: Oklahoma City

The Built Ford Tough Series stops in Oklahoma City this weekend. Photo by Andy Watson /


  • Sean Willingham is the defending Oklahoma City event champion.
  • This is the sixth consecutive year that the Built Ford Tough Series has stopped in Oklahoma City.
  • Fans can watch the first 15/15 Bucking Battle of the season on CBS Network Television Sunday at noon ET.

In This Article

14 YEARS IN OKC ― The Built Ford Tough Series heads back to Oklahoma City for the sixth consecutive year and 14th time overall since 1999, Friday, Jan. 24, Saturday, Jan. 25, and Sunday, Jan. 26. Bull riding begins at 8 p.m. CT on Friday, 7 p.m. CT on Saturday, and 2 p.m. CT on Sunday. 

UP NEXT ― The BFTS will travel to the West Coast next week to visit Sacramento, Calif., for the 10th year in a row, and the 11th time overall since 1996.

PAST OKLAHOMA CITY EVENT WINNERS – Current BFTS riders Sean Willingham, Valdiron de Oliveira and Jordan Hupp have all won the Oklahoma City event. Willingham won it last year during his first appearance on the BFTS in 2013. Here is a complete list of winners in Oklahoma City:

2013: Sean Willingham
2012: Valdiron de Oliveira
2011: Paulo Lima    
2010: Jordan Hupp
2009: Ednei Caminhas
2006: Jody Newberry
2005: Ross Johnson
2004: Brendon Clark
2003: Gilbert Carrillo
2002: Justin Volz
2001: Jason Bennett
2000: Jason Bennett
1999: Tater Porter

FORMAT ― This weekend, the Top 35 bull riders on the BFTS will compete in Round 1 on Friday night, Round 2 on Saturday night and Round 3 on Sunday afternoon, facing one bull each day. The riders with the Top 15 scores after three rounds will advance to the Built Ford Tough Championship Round on Sunday for an additional ride and a chance at the $30,000 event title.

PBR 15/15 BUCKING BATTLE ― The first PBR 15/15 Bucking Battle of the 2014 season will be held immediately following Round 2 on Saturday. The PBR 15/15 Bucking Battle features the Top 15 riders in the world competing against the 15 highest-ranked bulls at the event for an additional purse of $21,000. Normally, the bulls are randomly assigned a position from 1-15. The riders are then matched with their bulls based upon their own current rankings in the BFTS standings. However, for this weekend’s 15/15 Bucking Battle the Top 15 riders and Top 15 bulls are based off the final rankings in 2013. BFTS points will be doubled in the PBR 15/15 Bucking Battle, with the winner receiving 200 points and second place receiving 180 points, continuing down on a graduated scale to 20 points for 10th place. Points earned count toward the BFTS standings, but DO NOT count toward determining the event winner in Oklahoma City. If a rider fails to make a qualified ride, he does not receive any points or money.

15/15 Bucking Battle Matchups

1. Valdiron de Oliveira vs. JD (K&K Cattle Company/Ferguson Ranch)
2. Emilio Resende vs. The Rocker (Wyatt Crowder Bucking Bulls)
3. Ryan Dirteater vs. Smackdown (Dakota Rodeo/Chad Berger/Clay Struve/Julie Rosen)
4. Chase Outlaw vs. Stone Sober (D&H Cattle Co/Buck Cattle Co.)
5. Claudio Crisostomo vs. Jared Allen’s H4WW Hot Iron (Jared Allen’s Pro Bull Team)
6. Jory Markiss vs. David’s Dream (Wolf Creek Cattle Co./Cantankerous, LLC)
7. Mike Lee vs. I’m A Gangster Too (Jeff Robinson/TNT Bucking Bulls)
8. L.J. Jenkins vs. Jack Daniel’s Tennessee Honey (Wolf Creek Cattle Co./Cantankerous, LLC)
9. Eduardo Aparecido vs. Mississippi Hippy (Spark-lin Acres/K-C Bucking Bulls/Blythe Cattle Co.)
10. Marco Eguchi vs. Rango (Jeff Robinson Bucking Bulls)
11. Cody Nance vs. Sweet Thang (TC Bucking Bulls/Kent Cox)
12. Guilherme Marchi vs. Mick E Mouse (Marlene Henry)
13. Joao Ricardo Vieira vs. Shepherd Hills Tested (Luthy/Duckwall/D&H Cattle/Powder River/Shepherd Hills Cutlery)
14. Silvano Alves vs. Asteroid (Circle T Ranch & Rodeo)
15. J.B. Mauney vs. Bushwacker (Juilo Moreno Bucking Bulls)

POSSIBLE POINTS ― There are 1,200 possible points available in Oklahoma City as the winner of the event will receive 400 points and each of the four round wins is worth 100 points plus the ride score.

PROVIDING PROTECTION ― The Dickies® Bullfighters are Jesse Byrne of Okotoks, Alberta; Shorty Gorham of Cotulla, Texas; and Frank Newsom of Paoli, Okla.

TELEVISION BROADCAST ― PBR LIVE will broadcast the Oklahoma City Invitational at 8 p.m. CT on Friday, Jan. 24, at 7 pm CT on Saturday, Jan. 25, and at 2 p.m. CT on Sunday, Jan. 26.

CBS will broadcast the 15/15 Bucking Battle on Sunday at 12 p.m., while Round 3 and the championship round will be on CBS Sports Network at 8 p.m. ET. Veteran broadcaster Craig Hummer will provide the play-by-play; color commentary will be provided by two-time World Champion Justin McBride and Leah Garcia will handle dirt-level interviews.

BFTS telecasts are produced for the PBR by David Neal Productions, a Los Angeles-based production company led by 34-time Emmy® Award winner and Peabody Award winner David Neal, who serves as executive producer and creative lead.

Click HERE for the rest of this weekend's game notes.

© 2018 PBR Inc. All rights reserved.