Gay secures BFTS spot in Springfield

Springfield, Mo., is ready to welcome the Built Ford Tough Series to town. Photo by Andy Watson /


  • Gage Gay earned a bid to this weekend's Built Ford Tough Series event after winning the last Touring Pro Division event in Springfield, Mass.
  • Gay won the TPD event with 174 points thanks to a 87.5-point effort in the short go.
  • Ryan Dirteater finished in second place with 172 points.

In This Article

PUEBLO, Colo. ― After winning the long round of the Professional Bull Riders Lucas Oil Touring Pro Division event in Springfield, Mass., with an 86.5-point effort, Gage Gay picked up another 87.5 points in the short go for a total of 174 points and the event win this past weekend.

Gay took home $4,957.20 and moved into the Top 10 of the TPD standings. He also secured a spot in this weekend's Built Ford Tough Series Invitational, presented by Bass Pro Shops, in Springfield, Mo., Sept. 13-15.

Ryan Dirteater placed second in Springfield with 172 points overall and $3,304.80, while Brenton Chaffin took third with 170 points and $2,203.30 in prize money.

The TPD will make stops in North Dakota and Texas this weekend.

Dusty Ephrom, Tanner Byrne, Stetson Lawrence and Matt Triplett are scheduled to ride at the C'N Stars Invitational in Williston, N.D., Saturday and Sunday, Sept. 13-14, at 7:30 p.m.

Chaffin, Markus Mariluch, and brothers Joseph and Ryan McConnel will compete at the Fredericksburg, Texas PBR Touring Pro Division on Saturday at 7:30 p.m.

Springfield, Mass., PBR TPD on Sept. 6-7 at Springfield
Final Results (Round 1-Round 2-Total Points-Earnings)
1. Gage Gay, 86.5-87.5-174 points, $4,957.20
2. Ryan Dirteater, 85-87-172 points, $3,304.80
3. Brenton Chaffin, 85-85-170 points, $2,203.20
4. Jarrod Craig, 84.5-85-169.5 points, $1,101.60
5. Ryan Dirteater, 83.5-81-164.5 points, $660.96

Top 10 Touring Pro Division Rankings
1. Chase Outlaw, 2,639.50 points
2. Jory Markiss, 2,506.25 points
3. Edevaldo Ferreira, 2,168.52 points
4. Mike Lee, 2,159.62 points
5. Cody Nance, 2,140.04 points
6. Zac Peterson, 2,082.00 points
7. Zane Lambert, 1,899.25 points
8. Claudio Crisostomo, 1,890.96 points
9. Joao Ricardo Vieira, 1,837.73 points
10. Gage Gay, 1,750.58 points

© 2018 PBR Inc. All rights reserved.