By the numbers: Match of Champions

Chad Berger's annual bull riding event is set for June 15-16 in Bismarck, North Dakota.


  • Chad Berger has invited 16 champion bull riders to compete in a $100,000 Match of Champions.
  • The riders have a combined 3,474 qualified rides on the PBR premier series.
  • The group has won over $37 million in PBR-sanctioned competition.

In This Article

DULUTH, Ga. – Reigning Stock Contractor of the Year Chad Berger may have a rare weekend off when it comes to the 25th PBR: Unleash The Beast with the PBR in Georgia this weekend, but the Mandan, North Dakota, native has been hard at work continuing to get things ready for his annual bull riding in Bismarck, North Dakota.

Berger announced last month that he has invited 16 champion bull riders to compete in a World Champion Bull Riders $100,000 Match of Champions on June 15-16 at the Bismarck Event Center.

The 16 Champions Invited to Compete:

Three-time PBR World Champion Silvano Alves
Two-time PBR World Champion J.B. Mauney
Four-time PRCA World Champion J.W. Harris
Four-time PRCA World Champion Sage Kimzey
2017 PBR World Champion Jess Lockwood
2016 PBR World Champion Cooper Davis
2012 PRCA World Champion Cody Teel
2011 PRCA World Champion Shane Proctor
2010 PBR World Champion Renato Nunes
2009 PBR World Champion Kody Lostroh
2008 PBR World Champion Guilherme Marchi
2007 PRCA World Champion Wesley Silcox
2004 PBR World Champion Mike Lee
2002 PBR World Champion Ednei Caminhas
2017 Collegiate National Finals Rodeo Champion Cole Melancon
2016 Indian National Finals Rodeo Champion Cody Jesus 

The Match of Champions and regular-formatted bull riding will be streamed on RidePass and tickets are on-sale now. Fans can sign up for Ridepass HERE, while tickets are available for purchase tickets at the Bismarck Event Center, or by calling 1-800-514-3849.

Here is a brief look at some noteworthy statistics about the 16 riders slated to compete at the marquee summer event.

3,474: Number of qualified rides on the PBR premier series among 13 of the riders as of March 10. Three riders – Silcox, Melancon and Jesus – have no qualified rides on the premier series, while Kimzey has only three. Marchi leads the group with 625. Seven riders have 300 or more qualified rides – Marchi (625), Lee (525), Mauney (504), Alves (366), Caminhas (311), Lostroh (313), Nunes (309).

280: Number of 90-point rides on the PBR premier series among 11 of the contestants. No surprise, Mauney leads the way with 72, while Marchi is next with 51 and Nunes and Lostroh are tied with 37 for third.

$37,100, 076.67: All 16 riders have competed at a PBR-sanctioned event at least once in their bull riding careers. The group has earned over $37 million in PBR competition as of this weekend. This does not include money earned from other bull riding associations, including the PRCA. Two-time World Champion J.B. Mauney is the richest bull rider in Western Sports with over $7.2 million in career-earnings. Kimzey became the PRCA’s youngest millionaire in career earnings in 2017 and won over $1 million later that year by competing in multiple associations – $549,000 of which came in PBR-sanctioned bull ridings.

133: Number of premier series event victories among 12 riders. Four riders – Silcox, Melancon, Jesus and Kimzey – have never won a premier series event. Mauney leads all riders with 31, which is one away from tying two-time World Champion Justin McBride’s all-time PBR record. Six riders – Mauney (31), Marchi (25), Alves (14), Lee (14), Nunes (10) and Lostroh (10) have won 10 or more events.

23: Total number of championship buckles among the nine PBR World Champions and five PRCA World Champions slated to compete. Alves has the most PBR championships (3), while Kimzey and Harris are tied with four PRCA gold buckles.

15: Total number of World Finals and National Finals Rodeo event wins among 11 riders. Mauney is the only two-time PBR World Finals winner (2009, 2013) competing, while Kimzey (2014, 2017), Harris (2008, 2010) and Teel (2013, 2015) are two-time NFR winners.

$100,000: One rider can win the entire $100,000 if they sweep the competition. The champions will attempt one bull each night. The winner with the highest-combined aggregate score will be the event winner and take home $50,000. Each round winner will receive $25,000.

© 2018 PBR Inc. All rights reserved.